Skip Navigagtion

Who We Are

Who We Are

Tysen Kendig

Tysen Kendig

Vice President for Communications

Tysen serves as the chief communications and marketing officer for the University of Connecticut and is responsible for conveying the University’s mission, vision, and values to both internal and external audiences. He provides strategic leadership and counsel in the areas of communication, marketing, crisis management, and outreach, and administers all aspects of the University’s news services, media relations, brand development, multimedia design and production, and alumni relations. A former journalist, Tysen previously held senior leadership roles in communications and public relations at the University of Iowa, University of Arkansas, Penn State University, and Rider University.


tysen.kendig@uconn.edu

860.486.6713

Screen Shot 2015-03-17 at 2.28.55 PM

Patricia Fazio

Assistant Vice President for Brand Strategy

Patti is a UConn graduate, having earned BA degrees in French and English and an MA in English. She joined University Communications in 1997 and since then has successfully managed a wide range of marketing communications programs, projects, and initiatives. Reporting to Patti are the Strategic Marketing Communications and News & Editorial Communications units. In addition, she oversees marketing relationships with our internal clients, including enrollment management, Athletics, UConn Health, and UConn Foundation.


patricia.fazio@uconn.edu

860.486.5634

Chris Hyers

Chris Hyers

Executive Director of Health Marketing Communications / Chief Communications Officer for UConn Health

Chris, based on the UConn Health Campus in Farmington, leads the communications and marketing work across the health enterprise with a single goal in mind – connecting the community to the incredible work an academic medical center makes possible. With a degree in Advertising from the University of Florida, and an MBA from the University of Nebraska – in addition to work with health systems of all kinds in California, Florida, Nebraska, Iowa and Ohio, he joined the team in 2015 during one of the most exciting times in the history of UConn Health. He is a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives, a longtime member of the Society for Healthcare Strategy and Market Development and a member of the adjunct faculty teaching Healthcare Marketing & Communications through Des Moines University.


crh@uconn.edu

860.679.8760

Staff Listing

Office of the Vice President

Jen Cote

Jen Cote

Executive Assistant to the Vice President

jen.cote@uconn.edu
860.486.5352
Michelle Long

Michelle Long

Business Services Manager

michelle.long@uconn.edu
 860.486.0894

Stephanie Reitz

Stephanie Reitz

University Spokesperson

Tom Breen

Tom Breen

Deputy Spokesperson

tom.breen@uconn.edu
 860.486.0890
Susan Twiss

Susan Twiss

Administrative Assistant

susan.twiss@uconn.edu
860.486.0885

Paul McCarthy

Senior Attorney

Megan Philippi

Megan Philippi

Legal Administrative Assistant

Strategic Marketing

John Morawiec

John Morawiec

Director

 john.morawiec@uconn.edu
 860.486.3610
Tracy Anderson

Tracy Anderson

Assistant Director

tracy.anderson@uconn.edu
 860.486.1242

Brian Daley

Brian Daley

Team Leader, Web Development

brian.daley@uconn.edu
 860.486.6766
Christine Ballestrini

Christine Ballestrini

Senior Designer; Brand Specialist

Peter Morenus

Peter Morenus

Photographer; IT Specialist

 peter.morenus@uconn.edu
 860.486.5386
Julie Stagis

Julie Bartucca

Senior Marketing Associate

julie.bartucca@uconn.edu
 860.486.4183
Leonard Blanks

Leonard Blanks

Senior Designer

Sean Flynn

Sean Flynn

Senior Designer; Photographer

sean.flynn@uconn.edu
 860.486.0886
John Bailey

John Bailey

Designer

john.bailey@uconn.edu
 860.486.0884
Yesenia

Jess Carrero

Junior Web Designer

yesenia.carrero@uconn.edu
 860.486.0880
Christa Tubach

Christa Tubach

Designer, UConn Magazine

Lisa Stiepock

Lisa Stiepock

Editor, UConn Magazine

Brian Kelleher

Brian Kelleher

Web Developer

Steve Criss

Steve Criss

Marketing & Communications Administrator

 steve.criss@uconn.edu
 860.486.5333

Shobha Venkatraman

Marketing Associate

 shobha.venkatraman@uconn.edu
 860.486.1100

Adam Berkowitz

Web Developer

 adam.berkowitz@uconn.edu
 860.486.4989

News and Editorial

Kristen Cole

Kristen Cole

Director

kristen.cole@uconn.edu
860.486.2997
Alexa Biron

Alexa Biron

Manager, New Media & Special Projects

 alexa.biron@uconn.edu
 860.486.0279
Elizabeth Omara-Otunnu

Elizabeth Omara-Otunnu

Editor, UConn Today

Kenneth Best

Kenneth Best

Editorial Associate

kenneth.best@uconn.edu
860.486.2377
Colin Poitras

Colin Poitras

Research Editorial Associate

colin.poitras@uconn.edu
 860.486.4656
Kim Krieger

Kim Krieger

Research Editorial Associate

kim.krieger@uconn.edu
860.486.0361
Bret Eckhardt

Bret Eckhardt

Manager, Multimedia Services

 bret.eckhardt@uconn.edu
 860.486.0872
Angelina Reyes

Angelina Reyes

Senior Multimedia Specialist

Elizabeth Caron

Elizabeth Caron

Multimedia Specialist

 elizabeth.caron@uconn.edu
 860.486.1053

UConn Health Marketing Communications

Chris Hyers

Chris Hyers

Executive Director of Health Marketing Communications

Chief Communications Officer for UConn Health

crh@uconn.edu
860.679.8760
Lauren Woods

Lauren Woods

UConn Health Information Officer